6 October 2016

The Committee for Infrastructure - What does it do and how does it work?

What is the purpose of the Committee? 

The Assembly’s Committee for Infrastructure is responsible for scrutinising the work of the Department for Infrastructure, as well as playing a part in considering, revising and developing legislation.

Chris Hazzard MLA -
Minister for Infrastructure

How does it work?

The Committee holds regular meetings each week that the Assembly is sitting and members of the public are welcome to attend. The Committee can take briefings from the Minister, his officials and other stakeholders, and initiate inquiries into matters of interest.

The Infrastructure Department has a wide remit which includes: roads, regional development plans, planning, waterways and public transport - topics and issues that affect your everyday life. Many of these issues are implemented by bodies other than the Department and the Committee therefore works closely with Translink, NI Water, the Harbour Commissioners, Waterways Ireland, and the Northern Ireland Drainage Council.

Who are the Committee?

The members of the Committee for the 2016-17 Session are:

  • Chairperson: William Humphrey (DUP) North Belfast
  • Deputy Chairperson: George Robinson (DUP) East Londonderry
  • Alex Easton (DUP) North Down
  • Paul Girvan (DUP) Lagan valley
  • Declan McAleer (Sinn Féin) West Tyrone
  • Fra McCann (Sinn Féin) West Belfast
  • Daniel McCrossan (SDLP) West Tyrone
  • Justin McNulty (SDLP) Newry & Armagh
  • Kellie Armstrong (Alliance) Strangford
  • Eamonn McCann (PBPA) Foyle
  • Jenny Palmer (UUP) Lagan Valley

Get involved with Committee

If you want to get involved with the work of the Committee, you can respond to their inquiries, which will be published on their Committee page and read the Minutes of the meetings, as well as any Evidence Sessions.

You can also contact the Committee directly and share your views with them if you or your organisation is affected by any of the issues that the Committee is discussing, including any new legislation (laws).

You can watch the Committee meetings on the livestream on the Assembly’s website and access the ‘Watch/Listen Again’ the day after the meeting.

You can follow the Committee on Twitter @NIAInfra

Write to the Committee 

Cathie White - Clerk 
Room 416,
Parliament Buildings,
Belfast BT4 3XX

Email: Committee.Infrastructure@niassembly.gov.uk

Alternatively, you can contact Members of the Committee directly; you will find their details on the Committee’s page or on the Your MLAs page on the Assembly’s website.

No comments:

Post a Comment